Painting of a b&w cat, using no black or white paint

Here is a tiny acrylics painting of my cat Akasha (6″x12″.) It was small enough to fit in my scanner and I have to say that I like the result of scanning much better than that of photographing, unfortunately, I don’t own a really huge scanner. My normal pieces tend more toward formats like 20″x36″

It was also made without black or white paint. The lights are unbleached titanium and the darks are mostly phtalo green, cadmium red and yellow with bits of ultramarine and burnt sienna. The canvas tone was a phtalo green and cadmium red wash. I like the results, especially for the darks, I might have gone overboard with the shading on the light parts.

Akasha

One comment

Leave a Reply

