Edward VII and the gull

I just finished this. It’s the monument to Edward VII of England that can be found in Square Phillips in Montreal. I’m not sure why but I thought he looked great with a seagull on his head.

Edward VII was the son of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha. The edwardian era was named after him.

The painting is 24 inches high by 12 inches wide. I usually use very limited palettes when I paint in acrylics but in this case, I used just about every paint tube that I had laying around. It looks somewhat different than what I usually do. I’m happy with it, it felt pretty experimental.

Underpainting

Work in progress

Finished

Leave a Reply

