I have friends who go to cons (un message bilingue!)

An announcement/ Une annonce

I’m a relative newb when it comes to being an exhibitor at conventions but I’m  working hard at it. I’m sure I’m not the only one. I had the idea when I was at the Mini Comic Con on Montreal a few weeks ago to start a Facebook group for dealers and artists who go to cons. The goal is to get feedback on which conventions are good for dealers, tips for setting up tables and pricing and find people to share tables with or maybe car pool. Most of the conversation happens in french and it’s mostly centered on cons accessible for people in the eastern parts of Canada but if you are a dealer or an artist in conventions and you are interested, drop me a line on Facebook!

Je suis relativement débutante comme exposante dans les conventions, mais je travaille fort quand même. Je suis certaine que je ne suis pas la seule. Pendant le dernier Mini Comic Con de Montréal, j’ai eu l’idée de fonder un groupe Facebook pour les exposants et les artistes qui vont dans des conventions. Le but est d’avoir du feedback sur les différentes conventions, d’avoir des trucs pour les tables, les prix, de trouver des gens avec qui partager une table ou avec qui faire le trajet. Beaucoup des conversations sont en français et on est surtout concentrés sur les conventions accessibles aux gens dans l’est du Canada mais si vous êtes un exposants et que vous êtes intéressez, envoyez-moi un message sur Facebook!

Some Friends/Des amis

I meet all kinds of wonderful people when I go to cons, and I see al kinds of surprising things. Here are some new friends.

Mike Rooth.

Mike was our “across the alley” neighbor. He spent a lot of time working in front of con goers, I think this might explain his success.

EveChat.

Eve was my tablemate. I think our themes fit well together without competing. For some reason, she has a lot of cute stuff, but her zombies were the most popular.

Catherinette Rings.

One of our neighbors was Catherine of Catherinette Rings. Her partner crafts the jewelry and she helps a lot with the sales and logistics and some of the design. We had time to chat and I had time to look at their beautiful steampunk sculptures.

Kanthara

I also had the pleasure of hanging out with Kanthara a.k.a. Karine Charlebois, comic artist and storyboarder extraordinaire.

Leave a Reply

