IMC 2012 – Day 3, still ugly, but cleaner.

On day 3, we were so lucky as to have a lecture by Iain McCaig about visual storytelling, but honestly, I think Iain could make a lecture about breakfast cereals and it would still be exciting. We learned a lot about story boarding and how points of view after how we feel about characters. Later that day, Iain shared with us a super hot secret project that got us all pumped up. But it’s secret so that’s all I’ll say about that.

The second lecture of the day was with Brom, this year’s special guest faculty. And if he ever tells you that he’s not good at giving lectures, don’t listen to him. It was great fun and packed full  of insight, and gossip.

Doug Alexander also gave me a great portfolio crit and even did some draw overs for me. Now I know what my homeworks will be for this year!

I also got to shoot a lot of references. Giving directions for zombie shots is fun! So I have cleaned up the drawing for my main characters and I started putting colours on. I’m going for a Georges de la Tour kind of colour scheme, but with more graphical elements.

La Madeleine au miroir, by Georges de la Tour, beautiful light….

Nowhere as good as Georges de la Tour…

Past posts:

IMC 2012 – Day 1

IMC 2012 – Day 2, the ugly stage

One comment

Leave a Reply

