War Witch – Last painting of 2012

I painted this during the evening of December 31st 2012. It’s my last painting of 2012.  War Witch, a movie about child soldiers, inspired the title. When she drinks psychedelic tree sap, the titular war witch sees ghosts of murder victims. They haunt her and, sometimes, they talk to her.

First step of the painting. I usually start with the darks but this time I started with the graphic pattern, then a first pass on the highlights. The highlights are unbleached titanium.

First step of the painting. I usually start with the darks, but this time I started with the graphic pattern, then a first pass on the highlights. The highlights are unbleached titanium.

Second step. I added the dark in raw umber I use thin glazes that I build up slowly. Just untinted medium makes the masonite darker and I can't remove paint or cover up mistakes with light paint, so I have to act with caution.

Second step. I added the dark in raw umber. I use thin glazes that I build up slowly. Just untinted medium makes the masonite darker and I can’t remove paint or cover up mistakes with light paint, so I have to act with caution. I try to preserve as much of the background color as I can, as midtone.

Finished image scanned. This is close to the actual colors.

Finished image scanned. This is close to the actual colors and it’s 8″x10″

One of my goals for 2013 is to build a separate website for my traditional painting. I will have a print store and I will also have originals for sale. Until then, if you are interested in a painting, you can always e-mail me at chantal (at) chantalfournier (dot) com

Leave a Reply

