Weekend in Arundel

Now that the nice weather is back, I bought a new set of watercolours in order to tag along with the Urban Sketchers. I did go to a few of their events but I was mostly drawing with graphite or colored pencils. I did try a set of  watercolour pencils, but it was hard to hold many colors at once, and it was a cheap set, I couldn’t get dark colours out of it.

I went to Deserres at Place Montreal Trust to pick up the paints, but there was only one travel set and it was fairly crappy and expensive. I found more choice at Deserres on Ste-Catherine East.

This is the set I chose.

Windsor & Newton Cottman Compact Set.

Windsor & Newton Cotman Compact Set.

It rained a lot lately so I didn’t have time to try it much but I had made a colour chart.

My scanner has bad color accuracy:(

My scanner has bad colour accuracy:(

We spent the last weekend in Arundel, north of Montreal and I had time to try a few outdoor paintings to warm up. I used to paint in coloured ink as a teenager and into my early 20’s but I had never painted with “real” watercolours, and it had been a long time anyways, so I didn’t want to be too ambitious.

First, I did some clouds, they moved a lot and soon didn't look anything like what I had started to paint.

First, I did some clouds, they moved a lot and soon didn’t look anything like what I had started to paint.

Second, I did the sky again, but I also included the mountains and the roofs across from the small fish pond.

Second, I did the sky again, but I also included the mountains and the roofs across from the small fish pond.

And last, I crossed the fish pond to draw the cottage we were staying in. I ddn't like the result, so I inked it later.

And last, I crossed the fish pond to draw the cottage we were staying in. I didn’t like the result, so I inked it later.

These are my beginner paintings. I still have much more to do to master the set. I’m struggling with colour mixing. I’ll keep posting my work.

This is the actual sky and roofs.

This is the actual sky and roofs.

And the fish we caught in that pond.

And the fish we caught in that pond.

Cheers!

One comment

  1. EmmaLeduc

    It’s amazing what you can do with this very small palett., especially your skys I used to use this palett, but I stopped to by Sennelier and Winsor and Newton, but the color of Cotman are too heavy for me. I’m inspired by your color chart, I’ll try to make one soon !!!

Leave a Reply

